Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Miss Temple City 2009 Crowning Moment

May 24th, 2009 by Temple City Tribune


Photo by Terry Miller

Tears, Tiaras Punctuate Miss Temple City Pageant

The eight beautiful and dedicated contestants gave it their all on the stage to become the next Miss Temple City. Jaimie Wan, Alexis Nowak, Vivian Chao, Natalie Saxon, Christine Keung, Caroline Truong, Sharon Lai, and Shine Fu showed the audience that it was their time to shine.

The evening kicked off with a VIP hour that included food from Beto’s Grill and a slide show of all the events and activities that the ladies participated in throughout the process. Mr. Daryl Topalian, Oak Avenue’s Vice Principal, was the Master of Ceremonies and kept the crowd entertained during the breaks.  The difficult task of judging the eight contestants was bestowed on Senator Carol Liu, Elisa Clifford from Southern California Edison and Brian Mejia Assistant Deputy to Supervisor Michael D. Antonovich.


As each young lady came out on stage to introduce themselves and their platform to the audience the cheers from the room showed the support for each young lady.  The platforms ranged from environmental awareness to nutrition and exercising to promoting the Alzheimer’s Association.  The sportswear portion showed the unique individuality of each of the ladies. The talent section of the evening varied from instrumental entertainment to a monolog to “singing” a song with sign language to a martial arts demonstration.  Sharon had a huge amount of support from the crowd with green glow sticks in hand. Finally the contestants were escorted onto stage by their escorts and asked a single question.


The outgoing Miss Temple City Brittany Cummings and her Honor Court Kyla Sickles and Anna Li were presented with certificates from various legislators thank them for their service over the past year.


Sharon was presented with the award for Most Tickets sold as well as the Spirit of the Pageant.  Jaime was presented with the Sponsorship and Fundraising award.

As the evening came to an end the tears of happiness began to flow as the final decisions were announced.  Finally Sharon Lai was announced as second runner up and crowned by Dr. Chelsea Kang Smith. Shine Fu as first runner up and crowned by Mayor Judy Wong. Caroline Truong was crowned 2009-2010 Miss Temple City by the Chamber’s Chairman of the Board Herbert Chan.

By Andrea Olivas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *