Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone
April 20th, 2009 by Temple City Tribune
A new Historical Marker showcasing vintage photographs and descriptions of the Arcadia Woman’s Club will be unveiled during a formal dedication ceremony at 11 a.m. on Wednesday, April 29, at 324 S. First Ave.
The Arcadia Historical Society, in conjunction with the City of Arcadia, would like to invite the public and the media to join local dignitaries and residents in this short presentation of the fourth in a series of Markers being created by the Society under the slogan, "History Lives Here."
Immediately following the dedication, attendees are invited to a reception with sandwiches and refreshments inside, hosted by the Woman’s Club.
The series of Historical Markers are part of the non-profit Society’s mission to create broader public awareness of noteworthy historical events, people and landmarks in Arcadia.
The newest Woman’s Club Marker describes the 95-year history of the club and 78-year history of the building, and features several vintage photographs.
The Woman’s Club was responsible for creating the city’s first public library, and their departments and committees were active in many civic and charitable organizations, including the Red Cross, March of Dimes, the Peach Blossom Festival, Boy and Girl Scout troops, nurses, libraries, parks, children’s hospitals and the U.S.O.
The club officially organized in 1914 and incorporated as a non-profit organization in 1930. The club house at 324 S. First Ave. was dedicated on July 30, 1931.