Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Senator Liu honors local women for ‘exceptional abilities’

June 19th, 2014 by Temple City Tribune

The winners of the “2014 Women Mean Business” awards were announced on Friday at a luncheon at the Pasadena Hilton Hotel.
Honored by state Sen. Carol Liu (D-La Cañada, Flintridge), the women were chosen by having exceptional abilities have contributed to the economic vitality, diversity, and quality of life of the 25th state Senate District.
Liu said she was glad to be honoring this slate of women.
“I am very excited for the awardees and I hope that the message that we’re trying to get across will help the framework of where women are today in our society,” she said.
Liu added the women’s movement is not yet finished.
“While we have made great strides, we have a long way to go,” Liu said.
One of the honorees, Anne Lansing who oversees the housing program for the homeless in Pasadena, said she was thrilled to be recognized at the luncheon.
“I’m really excited and really honored,” she said. “Sometimes particularly when you’re working in the public sector it can feel to a degree somewhat thankless and to be recognized at this level is very nice.”
Dixie Noonan, senior advisor to the Shriver Report who gave the keynote address, said she was impressed with who was receiving the awards.
“They have picked an amazing lineup of award recipients this year,” Noonan said. “It’s all women making an impact in business in their community. I think we’re going to make sure women get the credit they deserve. Today is a good day to start that.”
This year’s honorees included:
Outstanding Small Businesswomen: Debra Nielsen (Pasadena) and Yvette-Janine Pardo (Pasadena);
Outstanding Junior Businesswomen: Elizabeth Yang (Pasadena);
Outstanding Corporate Women: Robyn Grandy (Pasadena);
Outstanding Nonprofit Employee: Florina Flores Schultz (Glendale) and Julie McElrath (Pasadena);
Woman in Law Lifetime Achievement Award: Patricia Larrigan (Glendale);
Woman in Energy Efficiency: Wendy M. James (Burbank);
Woman in Environment Lifetime Achievement: Betty McKenney (Pasadena);
Woman in Science: Dr. Sara Kim (Glendale), Dr. Mary Gatter (Pasadena) and Linda Malkas (Duarte);
Woman in Technology: Sophia Viklund (Pasadena)
Woman in Arts/Entertainment: Keely Milliken (Monrovia) and Maria Akopian (Burbank);
Tami Ginsburg Award (Corporate or Small Business Employee of the Year): Joanne Fletcher (Burbank) and America Solis- Bowman (Pasadena);
Most Inspirational Award: Anne Lansing (Pasadena); and
Outstanding Volunteer: Vicki Oldham (Burbank)
(Shel Segal can be reached at ssegal@beaconmedianews.com. He can be followed via Twitter @segallanded.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *